top of page

Make the Call


I couldn’t believe what I was reading.


I had inquired about an annual event that I enjoyed, with this last year being no exception. In fact, the event was so good that I couldn’t wait to pencil the date for the 2013 edition on my calendar. So I sent a quick email to one of the organizers, and my face fell as I read her response, “2012 was the last year for this event…” a few other details included that while the event was only 5 years old, those involved in event planning had reached different places in their lives, and unless others came along with a passion for the project, we’d seen the last of it.


Unless others.


Undergirding my efforts with prayer, I decided to phone a peer that had assisted in past planning of the event, and ask her to meet with me. I was nervous – would she think I was too pushy? After all, who am I to try and resurrect something that might’ve been past its prime?


Within seconds, she shared her own heart – that deep down she didn’t feel the event was over – that there were more people to reach through it, and she was thankful for my inquiry. The rest of the conversation went quite well, and she enthusiastically shared that she still wanted to be a part of the effort that might actually resurrect the event.


I almost didn’t call.


Yet I knew I had to – beyond the emotions of just enjoying the event, and beyond just trying to save something that was too good to let go, I knew I couldn’t just let it all go down without a fight – even if it was just a small fight.


Sometimes you have to put on your big girl boots and make the call. I’m so glad I did.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page