top of page

A Tasty Toxin


Over the course of living with Multiple Sclerosis, I’ve often had well-meaning friends show me an interesting article on the relationship between artificial sweeteners and the link to MS or other autoimmune symptoms.


Sigh. If only it were that easy. Do I love diet soda? Yes. But with my doctor’s advice and actually taking a few extra minutes to learn about my disease outside of forwarded emails, I also know that the environmental conditions surrounding my childhood–as well as a host of other factors–need to be looked at before I kick the Diet Coke™ to the curb. I only wish that others facing a diagnosis such as mine would do the same. I would love it if removing a soft drink or sweetener would solve the issue.


I always want to be careful when I speak on MS. That is why I always cringe when these circulated emails make their rounds, many of which have been dis-proven. Someone may opt to delay any one of the very successful treatment options out there, thinking their sole answer lies within what may or may not be in their refrigerator. That saddens me much more than the sound of a 12-oz can popped open.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page